News From HKC.

Press Releases

Mid Town Coloring Book

The Midtown Kansas City Coloring books are for SALE!

Please call Paul Helmer at (816) 739-4053  to purchase a copy for the Holidays.  The booklet is represented as a Coffee Table /Coloring Book is for sale for $10 each – with half the profits going to Historic Kansas City.

November 29, 2017

Endangered No More! Success Stories.

While HKC celebrates two stories of success – the “Nelsonhood” and the “Colonnades” – we also know that many important places throughout Kansas City remain endangered.  Buildings that once seemed safely preserved can later confront new, unforeseen threats. While we celebrate these two success stories, HKC remains committed to keeping a watchful eye on the list to make sure these community assets endure for the benefit of future generations.

November 28, 2017

Most Endangered 2017 Nomination Form

It’s that time of year again where we need your help. Is there a building that you know of that may be at risk for demolition? To type and electronically submit the application simply answer the questions in the attached PDF and email to Nominations are due by Wednesday January 31st, 2018.

November 28, 2017

Country Club Plaza Walking Guide

In addition to being one of Kansas City’s favorite gathering places, the Country Club Plaza is widely considered a jewel of 20th-century urban design. At 95 years old, the district endures as the most vital and valued part of its regional community, which counts over two million residents and 20 million
annual visitors. Famously designed to embrace the automobile, the Plaza is in fact human
scaled, with rich and layered decoration and detail intended to enchant and reward those
who take the time for a walk and a moment to look around them.  This guide, organized as a series of walking tours and seven short essays, provides entertaining facts and insight on the unique character and features of the Plaza.

September 20, 2017

2016 Preservation Awards Winners

On March 22nd, 2017 at the Grand Hall at Power & Light, Historic Kansas City honored the winners of 2016 Preservation Awards.

March 27, 2017

2016 Most Endangered List

Every year Historic Kansas City publishes the Most Endangered List to raise awareness and advocate for our city’s historic buildings and resources.

June 23, 2016

2015 Preservation Awards Winners

On March 14th, 2016 at Boulevard Brewery, Historic Kansas City honored the winners of 2015 Preservation Awards.

March 15, 2016