Preservation Awards

Historic Kansas City began honoring individuals and groups with Historic Preservation Awards nearly forty years ago. Our annual Historic Preservation Awards program celebrates the people who make preservation happen: dedicated homeowners, insightful architects, creative developers, and visionary leaders.

Each award recipient represents a model that others can look to for meeting the challenges of preservation. As a group, the recipients represent the many and varied ways preservation is accomplished in our community. They include exciting adaptive use projects, the tireless efforts of dedicated homeowners, threatened buildings that have been saved from destruction, and the lifetime efforts of a committed preservationist. Through this awards program, Historic Kansas City congratulates our award recipients and thanks them for their contribution to preserving Kansas City’s architectural heritage.





Best Adaptive Re-Use: Awarded to a project that is an exemplary example of a creative, innovative and appropriate re-use of a historic structure. The current use of the building must differ from its historical use.

  1. Bonner Springs High School/Government Services Center, 200 East 3rd Street, – Excellence Award
  2. August Meyer Residence/ Vanderslice Hall at Kansas City Art Institute, 4415 Warwick Blvd – Excellence Award
  3. Woodneath Homestead Rehabilitation (MCPL Woodneath Branch Library), 8900 NE Flintlock Rd – Excellence Award

 Best Preservation Practices: This award honors either outstanding work in the rehabilitation, restoration or reconstruction of a structure, or the outstanding work of a specific craftsperson on such a project. It is not intended to reflect lifetime achievement, but to highlight best-in-class or innovative techniques in a project.  The nomination must include photographs of the work and descriptions of the obstacles faced by the craftsperson in performing the work, innovative techniques or materials used in the project, and the process involved in the work, including research where applicable.

  1. Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum, 500 W. U.S. Highway 24, Independence – Excellence Award
  2. 9520 Madison Street – Honors Award
  3. Parkway Towers Condominium, 4545 Wornall Road – Merit Award

Best Contribution to Affordable Housing through Preservation: Recognizes the value of reusing buildings rather than demolishing and starting from scratch and its importance in maintaining affordable housing in Kansas City. The project honors the best work of those who have repurposed or rehabilitated multi-family buildings, six-plexes and other properties in a way that enhances the neighborhood around them while also creating or maintaining affordable living spaces.

  1. W. Chaffee Whitehead Residence/ The Oglesby Hotel Apartments, 3930 Troost Ave. – Excellence Award
  2. Town House Hotel/ Town House Renaissance, 1021 N 7th Street Trafficway, KCKS – Excellence Award

Contemporary Design in a Historic Context: Awarded to a project that displays appropriate and innovative contemporary design in a historic context. Any contemporary building located within a historic context is eligible, including a major addition to a historic building. The project is expected to respect and complement the historic integrity of its setting. Nominations should focus on significant aspects of the historic setting and the manner in which the contemporary design acknowledges and complements them.

  1. Lyric Theatre/ Kirk Family YMCA, 222 W 11th Street – Honors Award

Neighborhood Stabilization Award: Awarded to a project, individual, business or group that has greatly contributed to the revitalization of a historic neighborhood or reclamation of abandoned or poorly maintained property or structure.

  1. Marlborough Community Land Trust, 8336 Wayne Ave one of three developed and sold.  – Excellence Award
  2. Greek Orthodox Church/ Habitat for Humanity Headquarters, 1423 E Linwood Blvd  – Honors Award
  3. 2545 Holmes, Jackson County CASA – Merit Award

Trailblazers Award: This award recognizes outstanding achievement in preservation activities by a group, business, municipality, neighborhood, or other organization. The award nomination evaluation will be based on outstanding achievement for a significant project or for a lengthy period of dedication to preservation activities.

  1. Short-term Rental Working Group, Kansas City, Missouri

Jane Flynn Pillars of Preservation Award:  Individual or joint partnership that has championed historic preservation, planning, or public policy.

  1. Jim Schraeder

George Ehrlich Award: Awarded to a group or individual for an outstanding publication in preservation, history, urban design or a related topic.

  1. “Kansas City’s Montgall Avenue: Black Leaders and the Street They Called Home”  by Margie Carr



Award Winners