Sign Up Now

    News From HKC.

    2020 Historic Preservation Awards


    Each year Historic Kansas City presents the Preservation Awards to a select group of individuals, organizations and businesses for projects from throughout the Kansas City area which exemplify outstanding achievement in the field of historic preservation. The awards honor projects involving the preservation or protection of historic resources including the restoration, rehabilitation and/or adaptive reuse of historic properties; sympathetic new additions to historic buildings; or education, documentation and advocacy work on behalf of preservation of our heritage.

    Nominations for the 2020 Preservation Awards opened January 11, 2021 and will be accepted through March 31, 2021 11:59 pm local time. See each award category below for more information.

    • Category 1 Best Adaptive Re-Use: Awarded to a project that is an exemplary example of a creative, innovative and appropriate re-use of a historic structure. The current use of the building must differ from its historical use.
    • Category 2 Best Preservation Practices: Awarded for a restoration project that has undergone work in rehabilitation, restoration or reconstruction that allows for the continued original use of the structure.
    • Category 3 Contemporary Design in a Historic Context: Awarded to a project that displays appropriate and innovative contemporary design in a historic context. Any contemporary building located within a historic context is eligible, including a major addition to a historic building. The project is expected to respect and complement the historic integrity of its setting. Nominations should focus on significant aspects of the historic setting and the manner in which the contemporary design acknowledges and complements them.
    • Category 4 Innovation in Preservation: Recognize projects that show innovation (such as Blue and Green Architecture, Financing, Technology) and push the preservation movement forward.
    • Category 5 Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson: Recognizes high-quality work that demonstrates an understanding of the principles and practice of preservation techniques on a specific project. It is not intended to reflect lifetime achievement. The nomination must include photographs of the work and descriptions of the obstacles faced by the craftsperson in performing the work, innovative techniques or materials used in the project, and the process involved in the work, including research where applicable.
    • Category 6 Neighborhood Stabilization Award: Awarded to a project, individual, business or group that has greatly contributed to the revitalization of a historic neighborhood or reclamation of abandoned or poorly maintained property or structure.
    • Category 7 Richard Nadeau Award for Organizational Achievement: This award recognizes outstanding achievement in preservation activities by a group, business, municipality, neighborhood or other organization. The award nomination evaluation will be based on outstanding achievement for a significant project or for a lengthy period of dedication to preservation activities.
    • Category 8 Jane Flynn LEADERSHIP Award: Individual or joint partnership that has championed historic preservation, planning, or public policy.
    • Category 9 George Ehrlich Award: Awarded to a group or individual for an outstanding publication in preservation, history, urban design or a related topic.



    Eligibility Requirements

    • A complete nomination form must be submitted.
    • Projects and activities must have been completed during the 2020 calendar year.
    • HKC will accept both self-nominations and nominations without the knowledge of the nominee.
    • Awards may not be given in all categories and more than one award per category may be made.
    • Awards are chosen and conferred at the discretion of the Historic Kansas City Board of Directors.
    • Projects are to be located within the following counties: Missouri: Clay, Jackson, Platte. Kansas: Johnson, Wyandotte

    Application Fee

    • There is NO application fee for HKC GENERAL MEMBERSHIP for the following categories:
      • Jane Flynn LEADERSHIP Award
      • George Ehrlich Award
      • Richard Nadeau Award for Organizational Achievement
      • Neighborhood Stabilization Award
    • There is NO application fee for HKC BUSINESS MEMBERS OR CORPORATE SPONSORS for any nomination category.
    • There is a $150 application fee per project for the following categories, excluding HKC BUSINESS MEMBERS OR CORPORATE SPONSORS:
      • Best Adaptive Re-use
      • Best Preservation Practices
      • Contemporary design in a Historic Context
      • Innovation in Preservation
      • Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson

    Nomination Requirements

    In order to be considered a nomination including the following must be submitted by  March 31, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. local time.

    • A full one-page narrative explaining why the nominee deserves area-wide recognition. Describe the challenges overcome, unique strategies used, efforts to incorporate sustainable practices, positive impact on the community, and overall contribution to historic preservation. Provide in either Word or PDF document.
    • If any Federal or State programs providing financial assistance to the project, please list them.
    • Articles describing the project.
    • Submit at least fifteen (15) high-resolution digital images, each titled with the name of the nominated project. Digital images must be submitted in the form of JPEG files. Before and after images are encouraged so to strengthen the merits of the application.

    By submitting this application, you attest that HKC may use, reproduce, or make available for reproduction by HKC the information on this form and any supporting materials provided including images.

    Nomination Form