Although we couldn’t gather in person for our annual Historic Preservation Awards event, we were not about to let a year go by without celebrating the places that matter to Kansas City.

Even in difficult times, preservation advocates continue to fight for the places that make Kansas City vibrant, sustainable, and resilient. Despite current circumstances, we came together virtually as a preservation community to celebrate places saved, and shine light on the accomplishments of those involved.

The 2019 Historic Preservation Awards celebration was an evening full of inspiration, real preservation, and real success – within a virtual setting. The event showcased sixteen award-winning projects that honored our past.

View the event video HERE [click play after the window opens]


View the written program HERE.

“Without a doubt, the Preservation awards are HKC’s favorite event of the year. It’s the time we kick back and bask in the glow of all of our winner’s efforts to enhance our historic neighborhoods and buildings” said Greg Allen, President, Historic Kansas City. 

The Preservation awards highlighted numerous historic preservation efforts that occurred in the Kansas City area in the year 2019. “It is an honor to congratulate our 2019 award winners,” said Lisa Briscoe, Executive Director, Historic Kansas City. “The winners exemplify the finest historic preservation projects from across the metro area. We applaud the dedication and passion of the hundreds of individuals working at these iconic properties and neighborhood reinvestment initiatives that keep the stories alive from the past.”  

Preservation takes time, care, and vision. All of our winners dedicated long days and nights and problem-solved unexpected pitfalls to see these projects through from start to finish. From rundown to restored. From forgotten to flourishing! 

The 2019 Historic Preservation Awards took place virtually on Thursday, September 24th at 6:00 pm. Finalists were selected from nominations received from historic preservation supporters, prior award recipients, community leaders, and leadership from Historic Kansas City. The awards were announced before a live audience.

Preservation Awards Presented:

  1. Best Adaptive Re-Use
  2. Best Preservation Practices
  3. Contemporary Design in a Historic Context
  4. Neighborhood Stabilization Award
  5. Richard Nadeau Award for Organizational Achievement
  6. Jane Flynn LEADERSHIP Award
  7. Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson
  8. George Ehrlich Award