2011 Preservation Awards

2011 Preservation Awards

Location: 5005 Rockhill Rd Kansas City, MO

Stakeholders: Historic Kansas City Foundation

Congratulations to all of our winners!

Adaptive Re-Use: Awarded to a project that is an exemplary example of a creative, innovative and appropriate reuse of a historic structure. The current use of the building must differ from its historical use.

Honorable Mention: Katz Hall

Merit Award: Courthouse Lofts

Excellence Award: Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity

Restoration: Awarded to a project that successfully incorporates the Secretery of the Interior’s Standards for Restoration.

Excellence Award: Oppenstein House

Rehabilitation: Awarded to a project that successfully incorporates the Secretery of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

Honorable Mention: Grand Boulevard Lofts

Merit Award: Chatham Hotel

Excellence Award: St. Mary’s Parish Hall

Community Catalyst: Awarded to a project, individual, business or group that has contributed to the reinvestment in or revitalization of a historic neighborhood.

Merit Award: Reeves Weideman Co. Headquarters

Excellence Award: Roanoke Park Conservancy Project

Innovation in Preservation: Awarded to a person, group, project or idea that displays innovation in the field of preservation.

Honorable Mention: Green Impact Zone

Merit Awards: Johnson County Museum: Master Plan for the National Museum of Suburbia and Suburban Policy Forum

                              Friends of the Plaza: Use of Social Media

Excellence Award: KC Modern

Richard Nadeau Award: Awarded to an individual or group willing to go the extra mile and be a tireless advocate for preservation. Embodies and embraces the idea that “advocacy is the willingness to annoy people.”

Dan Cofran

Vicki Noteis

Jane Flynn Award: Awarded to an individual or group whose actions have greatly impacted preservation in Kansas City–has fought a preservation battle, worked tirelessly to preserve a structure or neighborhood, or has promoted preservation through planning and public policy.

Sally Schwenk

George Ehrlich Award: Awarded to a group or individual for an outstanding publication in preservation, history, urban design or a related topic.

Merit Award: Elmwood Cemetery

Excellence Award: Pendleton Heights: Then and Now